browser-switch
9 years agoUpdate webpage, add some screenshots
Steven Luo [Thu, 24 Dec 2009 02:43:58 +0000 (18:43 -0800)]
Update webpage, add some screenshots

9 years agoReadd webpage
Steven Luo [Wed, 23 Dec 2009 11:33:18 +0000 (03:33 -0800)]
Readd webpage

9 years agoUpdate README and Changelog v3.0
Steven Luo [Wed, 23 Dec 2009 11:31:46 +0000 (03:31 -0800)]
Update README and Changelog

9 years agoRemove webpage for release tarball
Steven Luo [Wed, 23 Dec 2009 11:31:33 +0000 (03:31 -0800)]
Remove webpage for release tarball

9 years agoUpdate webpage
Steven Luo [Sat, 19 Dec 2009 06:58:55 +0000 (22:58 -0800)]
Update webpage

9 years agoSupport EXTRA_CFLAGS in Makefiles
Steven Luo [Sat, 19 Dec 2009 06:07:27 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Support EXTRA_CFLAGS in Makefiles

This makes it possible to specify additional CFLAGS at build time.

9 years agoUse pkg-config libosso instead of pkg-config dbus-1 for the plugin
Steven Luo [Sat, 19 Dec 2009 02:48:35 +0000 (18:48 -0800)]
Use pkg-config libosso instead of pkg-config dbus-1 for the plugin

The hildon-control-panel plugin interface needs libosso to compile;
the use of pkg-config dbus-1 was just covering this up.

9 years agoUpdate webpage
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 15:08:15 +0000 (07:08 -0800)]
Update webpage

9 years agoDon't use killall to HUP browser-switchboard
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 12:50:12 +0000 (04:50 -0800)]
Don't use killall to HUP browser-switchboard

Use kill and pidof instead -- killall might kill a standalone config app.

9 years agoFix dependencies listed in README
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 12:43:09 +0000 (04:43 -0800)]
Fix dependencies listed in README

9 years agoconfig-ui: Teach UI how to HUP C browser-switchboards
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 11:41:06 +0000 (03:41 -0800)]
config-ui: Teach UI how to HUP C browser-switchboards

9 years agoReadd the webpage
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 11:17:48 +0000 (03:17 -0800)]
Readd the webpage

www got clobbered in the merge.

9 years agoAdd the version number to the README c-implementation v3.0rc1
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 11:13:08 +0000 (03:13 -0800)]
Add the version number to the README

9 years agoUpdate Changelog and README
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 11:12:39 +0000 (03:12 -0800)]
Update Changelog and README

9 years agoDefault to launching MicroB if default_browser is unset
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 10:40:00 +0000 (02:40 -0800)]
Default to launching MicroB if default_browser is unset

The check-for-Tear-and-use-MicroB-otherwise hack was only until we got a
config UI.  Now that we have one, it's easiest just to keep MicroB as
the default until the user configures browser-switchboard.

9 years agoMake the default prefix /usr
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 10:35:16 +0000 (02:35 -0800)]
Make the default prefix /usr

We're already assuming this in several places, and it's too much work to
make those files autogenerated when no one's going to use that feature.

9 years agoconfig-ui: the strip and install targets only work for the plugin
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 10:29:09 +0000 (02:29 -0800)]
config-ui: the strip and install targets only work for the plugin

9 years agoEnsure that all objects for the plugin are built with -fPIC
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 10:27:14 +0000 (02:27 -0800)]
Ensure that all objects for the plugin are built with -fPIC

9 years agomkdir all the directories to which we install files, not just some of them
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 10:25:26 +0000 (02:25 -0800)]
mkdir all the directories to which we install files, not just some of them

9 years agoMerge branch 'config-ui' into c-implementation
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 10:23:12 +0000 (02:23 -0800)]
Merge branch 'config-ui' into c-implementation

9 years agoRemove the N8x0-specific CFLAGS
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 07:21:05 +0000 (23:21 -0800)]
Remove the N8x0-specific CFLAGS

These should move to packaging.

9 years agoRemove the N8x0-specific CFLAGS config-ui
Steven Luo [Fri, 18 Dec 2009 07:20:15 +0000 (23:20 -0800)]
Remove the N8x0-specific CFLAGS

These should move to packaging.

9 years agoHUP running browser-switchboard processes after saving config
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 14:56:34 +0000 (06:56 -0800)]
HUP running browser-switchboard processes after saving config

Sending SIGHUP to a running browser-switchboard in continuous mode
causes it to reload its config.  If not in continuous mode, it'll die
and the next browser-switchboard will pick up the config changes.

9 years agoUse a stock GTK+ dialog
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 14:34:40 +0000 (06:34 -0800)]
Use a stock GTK+ dialog

Use the stock OK/Cancel GTK+ dialog instead of making our own.  Also
use the response from gtk_dialog_run() to decide whether to save instead
of using custom callbacks for the buttons.  Should make the dialog more
Maemo 5 friendly.

Also, eliminate some unnecessary crap in the hildon-control-panel plugin
path, and reintroduce do_reconfig() in preparation for adding HUPing of
a running browser-switchboard.

9 years agoDon't execute hildon_program_get_instance() before gtk_init()
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 14:05:23 +0000 (06:05 -0800)]
Don't execute hildon_program_get_instance() before gtk_init()

Shuts up some runtime assertions in the Hildon app.

9 years agoReplace the continuous_mode checkbox with a radiobutton group
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 13:56:13 +0000 (05:56 -0800)]
Replace the continuous_mode checkbox with a radiobutton group

The wording of the continuous mode checkbox confused 100% of respondents
in an unscientific poll, and no one (including me) could come up with
better wording.

Instead, take a suggestion from Robin Luo, and try a radiobutton group
where the choices reflect the observed effect (continuous_mode off =
"Lower memory usage", continuous_mode on = "Faster browser startup
time"), not the implementation.

9 years agoAdd some padding at sides and bottom of the window
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 13:06:53 +0000 (05:06 -0800)]
Add some padding at sides and bottom of the window

The widgets were going right up to the edge of the window, which looks
wrong; fix this by adding padding where it's needed.

9 years agoTry to create CONFIGFILE_DIR if it doesn't exist
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 12:49:37 +0000 (04:49 -0800)]
Try to create CONFIGFILE_DIR if it doesn't exist

9 years agoMerge changes to configfile.h from c-implementation branch
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 12:42:12 +0000 (04:42 -0800)]
Merge changes to configfile.h from c-implementation branch

Need CONFIGFILE_DIR from this change.

9 years agoSplit up CONFIGFILE_LOC into CONFIGFILE_DIR and CONFIGFILE_NAME
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 12:40:28 +0000 (04:40 -0800)]
Split up CONFIGFILE_LOC into CONFIGFILE_DIR and CONFIGFILE_NAME

The config UI needs to be able to create CONFIGFILE_DIR if it doesn't
exist, so make this easier on it.

9 years agoDon't explicitly set a size for the dialog
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 12:14:27 +0000 (04:14 -0800)]
Don't explicitly set a size for the dialog

9 years agoUse the browser logo for our control panel applet for now
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 12:08:04 +0000 (04:08 -0800)]
Use the browser logo for our control panel applet for now

Until we get a custom logo, use the browser globe instead of the
generic wrench as our logo.

9 years agoAlign labels to the right, not to the left
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 12:06:00 +0000 (04:06 -0800)]
Align labels to the right, not to the left

The convention on Maemo for labels to the left of combo boxes or entries
seems to be right alignment, not left alignment as on my GNOME desktop.

9 years agoMerge changes to configfile.c from c-implementation
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 11:14:39 +0000 (03:14 -0800)]
Merge changes to configfile.c from c-implementation

Fixes a crash in the UI.

9 years agoMake parse_config_file_end() clear re_init
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 11:12:12 +0000 (03:12 -0800)]
Make parse_config_file_end() clear re_init

Without this, another call to parse_config_file_begin() does nothing,
which causes a crash in parse_config_file_line().

9 years agoStyle changes
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 11:11:34 +0000 (03:11 -0800)]
Style changes

9 years agoImplement loading and saving config settings
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 11:08:11 +0000 (03:08 -0800)]
Implement loading and saving config settings

9 years agoRemove maemo.org contact address from copyright notice
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 08:02:44 +0000 (00:02 -0800)]
Remove maemo.org contact address from copyright notice

The maemo/Nokia folks aren't responsible for this code in any way, so
don't give that impression.

9 years agoMerge config file parsing routines from the c-implementation branch
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 08:00:00 +0000 (00:00 -0800)]
Merge config file parsing routines from the c-implementation branch

9 years agoRemove unnecessary #includes
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 07:57:34 +0000 (23:57 -0800)]
Remove unnecessary #includes

9 years agoZap stray debugging printf()s
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 07:48:27 +0000 (23:48 -0800)]
Zap stray debugging printf()s

9 years agoMove the regex #defines to configfile.c
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 07:47:00 +0000 (23:47 -0800)]
Move the regex #defines to configfile.c

They're not needed anywhere else, so no need for them to be in the
header file.

9 years agoSwitch the proxy over to use shared config file parsing functions
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 07:42:32 +0000 (23:42 -0800)]
Switch the proxy over to use shared config file parsing functions

9 years agoAdd independent config file parsing functions
Steven Luo [Thu, 17 Dec 2009 07:31:51 +0000 (23:31 -0800)]
Add independent config file parsing functions

Config file parsing will also be needed by the config UI, so break out
into its own function so that it can be shared between the config UI
and the C implementation.

9 years agoInitial refactor of config file handling
Steven Luo [Wed, 16 Dec 2009 12:02:08 +0000 (04:02 -0800)]
Initial refactor of config file handling

Move the config file locating code, the location #defines, and the
parsing regexes into new files, so that they can be shared by the config
UI.

9 years agoAdd a .desktop file for the control panel plugin
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 14:21:07 +0000 (06:21 -0800)]
Add a .desktop file for the control panel plugin

The .desktop file is needed for hildon-control-panel to pick up the
applet.  Modify the Makefile to install it, and also fix a silly
plugin installation bug in the process.

9 years agoMakefile updates
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 14:07:27 +0000 (06:07 -0800)]
Makefile updates

Make three build modes (app, hildon-app, plugin) instead of two, and use
up pkg-config flags so that the plugin mode actually builds.

9 years agoCompile fix for the Hildon control panel applet
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 14:06:57 +0000 (06:06 -0800)]
Compile fix for the Hildon control panel applet

9 years agoShrink dialog window width/height
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 14:00:14 +0000 (06:00 -0800)]
Shrink dialog window width/height

Shrink the window a bit so that it doesn't look so ridiculously large.

9 years agoCommit the beginnings of a config UI
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 13:32:42 +0000 (05:32 -0800)]
Commit the beginnings of a config UI

UI doesn't actually do anything other than look pretty yet.

9 years agoGet rid of www on this branch
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 10:42:45 +0000 (02:42 -0800)]
Get rid of www on this branch

9 years agoBe more consistent with debug printf()s for the launcher functions
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 06:43:23 +0000 (22:43 -0800)]
Be more consistent with debug printf()s for the launcher functions

9 years agoAdd some comments to the code
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 06:37:53 +0000 (22:37 -0800)]
Add some comments to the code

Restore some of the comments from the Python script, plus a few other
points that might make the code clearer.

9 years agoTry legacy config file location if config file not found
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 06:14:27 +0000 (22:14 -0800)]
Try legacy config file location if config file not found

Before we renamed the project, the config file used to be found in
$HOME/.config/browser-proxy, so if we don't find a config file in the
new place, try the old one before giving up.

9 years agoLaunch MicroB if default_browser not set and Tear isn't installed
Steven Luo [Tue, 15 Dec 2009 06:07:28 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Launch MicroB if default_browser not set and Tear isn't installed

Change the handling of default_browser == NULL in
update_default_browser() to check for the presence of Tear before
setting it as the default browser, and to use MicroB as the default
otherwise.

9 years agoMerge branch 'www'
Steven Luo [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 14:13:25 +0000 (06:13 -0800)]
Merge branch 'www'

9 years agoInitial revision of the homepage.
Steven Luo [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 14:10:19 +0000 (06:10 -0800)]
Initial revision of the homepage.

9 years agoMerge documentation updates from 2.2 into c-implementation
Steven Luo [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 11:27:51 +0000 (03:27 -0800)]
Merge documentation updates from 2.2 into c-implementation

9 years agoReformat the changelog python-implementation v2.2
Steven Luo [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 11:10:00 +0000 (03:10 -0800)]
Reformat the changelog

9 years agoUpdate the Changelog
Steven Luo [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 11:06:22 +0000 (03:06 -0800)]
Update the Changelog

9 years agoUpdate README
Steven Luo [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 11:01:37 +0000 (03:01 -0800)]
Update README

Substantial rewrite of the README, providing usage instructions for the
package and documenting the config file.

9 years agoFix off-by-one error in launch_other_browser
Steven Luo [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 08:45:12 +0000 (00:45 -0800)]
Fix off-by-one error in launch_other_browser

quote+1 has length one less than quote, so asking memmove() to move
strlen(quote)+1 bytes (including the \0) starting at quote+1 results in
writing one byte beyond the end of the memory area.  Found by valgrind.

9 years agoActually initialize sa_mask properly
Steven Luo [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 08:35:18 +0000 (00:35 -0800)]
Actually initialize sa_mask properly

sigset_t isn't necessarily an integer, so we can't assign an integer to
it -- use the appropriate function instead.

9 years agoInitialize sa_mask in sigaction structure
Steven Luo [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 08:29:04 +0000 (00:29 -0800)]
Initialize sa_mask in sigaction structure

Found by valgrind.

9 years agoCreate and register two different OssoBrowser objects instead of reusing one
Steven Luo [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 08:21:46 +0000 (00:21 -0800)]
Create and register two different OssoBrowser objects instead of reusing one

Valgrind complains about a memory leak otherwise.

9 years agoFix thinko in open_address
Steven Luo [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 08:15:41 +0000 (00:15 -0800)]
Fix thinko in open_address

if (!uri && uri[0] = '/') is obviously never going to be true ...
Fix by just giving up in the !uri case.

Strangely enough, I'm not hitting this in testing on the tablet --
perhaps gcc is optimizing out the test?

9 years agoUnbreak the no-config-file case after last commit
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 10:56:22 +0000 (02:56 -0800)]
Unbreak the no-config-file case after last commit

Thinko in the last commit left LaunchBrowser potentially undefined in
the no-config-file case.

9 years agoTry legacy config file location if config file not found
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 10:51:31 +0000 (02:51 -0800)]
Try legacy config file location if config file not found

Before we renamed the project, the config file used to be found in
$HOME/.config/browser-proxy, so if we don't find a config file in the
new place, try the old one before giving up.

Also fix a couple of syntax errors.

9 years agoDon't exit if pidof dies abnormally
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 10:28:27 +0000 (02:28 -0800)]
Don't exit if pidof dies abnormally

There's no need to quit if pidof is killed or otherwise dies abnormally
instead of exiting normally, we just can't check its exit status.

9 years agoMake "make install" install the /usr/bin/browser wrapper and dbus service too
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 10:24:58 +0000 (02:24 -0800)]
Make "make install" install the /usr/bin/browser wrapper and dbus service too

9 years agoRemove a stray debugging printf()
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 10:21:42 +0000 (02:21 -0800)]
Remove a stray debugging printf()

9 years agoClean up string handling
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 10:18:05 +0000 (02:18 -0800)]
Clean up string handling

Revise the handling of strings in several places to be less confusing
and safer.  Fix at least two definite bugs in launcher.c concerning
integer overflows and realloc() possibly moving memory.

Also a few indentation changes.

9 years agoStyle changes
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 05:28:12 +0000 (21:28 -0800)]
Style changes

9 years agoMake config file parsing (mostly) compatible with the Python implementation
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 05:15:39 +0000 (21:15 -0800)]
Make config file parsing (mostly) compatible with the Python implementation

Redo the config file parsing using POSIX regular expressions, so that
it's mostly compatible with the Python implementation.  Full
compatibility isn't happening, of course, since the Python
implementation's config file is being sourced by the interpreter.

9 years agoRemove a redundant -Wall from CPPFLAGS
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 04:53:26 +0000 (20:53 -0800)]
Remove a redundant -Wall from CPPFLAGS

9 years agoCommit a plain C reimplementation of browser-switchboard
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 04:08:23 +0000 (20:08 -0800)]
Commit a plain C reimplementation of browser-switchboard

The C implementation has a ~2 second startup time advantage over the
Python version, very noticeable when continuous_mode is disabled.

For now, the config file format is incompatible with the Python
implementation.

9 years agoMake browser-switchboard launch MicroB if unconfigured and Tear is not installed
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 02:09:23 +0000 (18:09 -0800)]
Make browser-switchboard launch MicroB if unconfigured and Tear is not installed

Make browser-switchboard launch MicroB if there is no config file and
Tear is not installed.  Do this by handling default_browser == ""
specially, and by setting default_browser to the empty string by
default.

This allows us to drop the Depends: on tear in the packaging.

9 years agoFinish changing the name from browser-proxy to browser-switchboard
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 00:47:48 +0000 (16:47 -0800)]
Finish changing the name from browser-proxy to browser-switchboard

Rename the script to browser-switchboard, and change the D-Bus .service
file and the docs accordingly.  Change the config file location from
$HOME/.config/browser-proxy to $HOME/.config/browser-switchboard.

Also, get rid of the # in front of every line of the README.

9 years agoZap the welcome file
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 00:27:35 +0000 (16:27 -0800)]
Zap the welcome file

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of https://git.maemo.org/projects/browser-switch
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 00:20:53 +0000 (16:20 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of https://git.maemo.org/projects/browser-switch

9 years agoInitial commit.
Steven Luo [Fri, 11 Dec 2009 00:18:38 +0000 (16:18 -0800)]
Initial commit.

9 years agowelcome
www-data [Thu, 10 Dec 2009 12:40:32 +0000 (14:40 +0200)]
welcome